“Into the Wild”

 “Into the Wild”- A Sean Penn's adaptation of the non-fiction best-seller by Jon Krakauer.

“Into the Wild”- A Sean Penn’s adaptation of the non-fiction best-seller by Jon Krakauer.

A story of Christopher Johnson McCandless . A story of a young lad who had given $25,000 in savings to charity, abandoned his car and most of his possessions, burned all the cash in his wallet, spent two years tramping around the American South-west before heading to Alaska to have a last great adventure. A story that reads that four months later, his decomposed body was found by a party of moose hunters. He was just 24 then.

Its a story well- narrated by Jon, its a story well-depicted by Sean Penn. A story that puts together a sprawling, beautiful and ultimately moving book/film touching hearts. Though the story may be tragic, its spirit is anything but is infused with an expansive, almost giddy sense of possibility, and it communicates a pure, unaffected delight in open spaces, fresh air and bright sunshine. A resounding resonance in a tale of youthful wandering, an emphasis on the capacity for love, the gift for fellowship that, well might be paradoxically, is accompanied by a fierce need for solitude and recluse- all put forward in a story neither sophisticated nor naïve.

Its just a tale about the desire for freedom that feels, in itself, like the fulfilment of a desire- a desire filled with grandeur and imperfection, a desire arising from a passionate, generous impulse that is as hard to resist, a desire to listen to the call of the open road.

A tale rich with craftsmanship of story telling, a movie rich with cinematography encompassing beautiful soundtracks, the soundtracks brimming with a hope and the voyage of self discovery. One such tracks is called  The Society” written originally by Jerry Hannan and performed by Eddie Vedder, portraying the vicious cycle of mainstream society, the unavoidable rat race of life and the frivolous distractions in which all the thoughts and beliefs tend to get muddled and get lost in the shuffle. Vedder seems to use “Society” as a way to convey what he thinks McCandless was thinking during the period of his life covered in Into the Wild. “Society” helps convey the intense feelings of McCandless through both the powerful, yet simple words and the almost haunting melody.

It’s a mystery to me
We have a greed with which we have agreed
You think you have to want more than you need
Until you have it all you won’t be free

.

Society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me

.

When you want more than you have
You think you need
And when you think more than you want
Your thoughts begin to bleed

.

I think I need to find a bigger place
‘Cause when you have more than you think
You need more space

.

Society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me
Society, crazy indeed
I hope you’re not lonely without me

.

There’s those thinking more or less, less is more
But if less is more how you’re keeping score?
Means for every point you make your level drops
Kinda like it’s starting from the top, you can’t do that

.

Society, you’re a crazy breed
I hope you’re not lonely without me
Society, crazy indeed
I hope you’re not lonely without me

.

Society, have mercy on me
I hope you’re not angry if I disagree
Society, crazy indeed
I hope you’re not lonely without me

.

Through this song, Eddie Vedder, gives us, the listeners, an opportunity to interpret McCandless’ emotions on a deeper level, but I doubt if we will ever really know McCandless’  true opinions of our baffling breed.

No copyright violations intended. This is the property of Monkeywrench, Inc./J Records and “Into the Wild”. 

