The Red White-Sheet

There I see, at a distance a the cloud of smoke hovers

There I see where once stood a city, a the column of fire rises

There I hear, the shots as fingers hit the triggers

What once buzzed with life are today just still figures.

.

I longed to see walls of different shades, painted green and yellow and blue

But I have walked miles watching ‘em with prints of red, it all but differed just in its hue

.

There were kids who once played on the soil below my feet

There were men and women who once worked on this street

I may have just needed something for my white sheet

But there was no soul there as I sat on a crumpling seat.

.

The sky grew darker, I still sat there trying to shut out the sound

The more I thought, the more it was clear that there were no answers for the questions that I found.

