The Tides & Times- Good old days

They say you can’t find them everywhere. Ask me – there is one place, a paradise called college – one of the most cherished chapters of my life – that brings in people with different ideologies, different backgrounds together. These people are the ones with whom you tend to connect with for the rest of your lives.

The Hostel Blocks- a home away from home

The Hostel Blocks- a home away from home

Personally, I came here eager to study and learn. I may not have studied but I sure did learn a lot.  A few words at this juncture won’t do justice to any of the moments that I shared with my best buddies over the past 4 years. There are truckloads of memories that built up every day. It has always been some people, some moments that mattered to me- not any of what I was supposed to be doing.

NITK

NITK

1 (12)

Be it the mess food, the club events, insane dance spree during the cultural fests, treats and farewells, midnight jaunts to night canteen, nights outs slogging before the exams, building of bots- these are probably the smallest details that are embedded deeply somewhere.

1 (14)

All the late night partying, the freshers party for that matter, gazing at the night sky lying on the beach, contemplating the meaning of life or even why love is associated with the heart and not the kidneys when the world around didn’t matter anymore, it has been an experience that has changed my life forever.

Sea shore by the institute

Sea shore by the institute

Counter-strike sessions that ended only at the first rays of light from the sun on a new dawn, football and cricket in the narrow wings of the hostel, watching those movies that never seemed funny when being watched alone, run downs on rainy days, colours smeared during holi, pranks pulled over on fellow buddies, being thrown directly into the incoming waves of the sea or just the strolls across on the sands, random trips and treks to various places, road-trips on bikes and cars in the middle of the night- each and every day was a special one for me in itself.

The rainy days

The rainy days

The rainy days

The rainy days

Sharing of thoughts, rows of fights, arguments and laughters, the “angry” lay-offs, smiles that brightened the mood, shoulders that comforted- indeed I found friends that became family, and began to understand what it meant to love someone for who they are; not who I wanted them to be. An innocent chocolate boy (as what we called him), an infinite talking capacity and a very good-at-heart girl, a very ambitious and sweet girl, a very helpful and responsible guy, two goddesses who were epitome of care and composure, an optimistic guy and another down-to earth fun loving jackass, a staunch supporter of congress, a standup comedian in the making with outstanding academics, a tik-toking girl and many many more- I got into this herd and never had plans of turning back.

1 (18)

They have been the greatest treasures of my life. They have been morons but the best ones of course. I miss them all. I know I can’t go back but I still hold onto memories I have got from this place.

Now there is a fresh and bright new start ahead of me, but also this trail of memories left behind. It would not be justice to forget these memories and let them be. It would not be justice to let the past be the past and move on. Soon I know I will be in a mess of things that I can hardly comprehend now, things that I can hardly imagine now- chasing dreams and juggling priorities. Even then there is a feeling to cling onto – be it friendship, be it my experience or be it the sheer joy of an independent life in the hostel with my best pals – it always tinkers on. Time to think; time to wonder.

3

This post is in response to Daily Post’s Weekly Challenge: I remember.